Regatta 1: GC32 Villasimius Cup

europe

22 – 26 May 2019: The start of the GC32 Racing Tour season 2019 will take place in Italy, more precisely in Villasimius at the most southeastern point of the island of Sardinia. The so-called GC32 Villasimius Cup will take place in front of the Marina di Villasimius near the maritime protected area Capo Carbonara. This is the third time that the GC32 Racing Tour has visited this popular holiday destination, known for its azure blue waters, exotic marine fauna and pink flamingos.

The shallow bay at the gates of the small port of Villasimius is ideal for a sailing regatta. The picturesque town of Villasimius is just over an hour’s drive from the nearest airport and can only be reached via the narrow coastal road. This may be one of the reasons why Villasimius is still an insider tip among sailors. Another one-design regatta, the Melges32 Class, took place at the end of April. But Villasimius still remains a sleepy village that only really blossoms in the summer months.

The participant list of the GC32 Racing Tour 2019 will be stronger than ever. Thanks to a consolidation of the GC32 regatta events after last season, all GC32 teams are now concentrating on the Racing Tour. With Alinghi, Oman Air and Red Bull Sailing, three illustrious and successful teams from the Extreme Sailing Series will now take part in the GC32 Racing Tour.

For the more than 10 expected teams the World Championship in Lagos will follow after the season opener in Villasimius, before go to Palma de Mallorca for the Copa del Rey MAPFRE. Riva del Garda will be the last Destination in Europe.

Villasimius Cup: Impressions from the first GC32 Racing Tour Regatta

(Pictures by Sailing Energy / GC32 Racing Tour)

This content is also available in Deutsch

Regatta 1: GC32 Villasimius Cup

europe

22.05. – 26.05.2019: Der Auftakt in die GC32 Racing Tour Saison 2019 erfolgt in Italien, genauer in Villasimius am südöstlichsten Punkt der Insel Sardinien. Der so genannte GC32 Villasimius Cup findet vor der Marina di Villasimius in der Nähe des maritimen Schutzgebietes Capo Carbonara statt. Dies ist das dritte Mal, dass die GC32 Racing Tour dieses beliebte Urlaubsziel besucht, das für sein azurblaues Wasser, seine exotische Meeresfauna und seine rosa Flamingos bekannt ist. 

Die flache Bucht vor den Toren des kleinen Hafens von Villasimius eignet sich hervorragend für die Austragung einer Segelregatta. Die malerische Ortschaft Villasimius ist eine gute Autostunde vom nächsten Flughafen entfernt und teils nur über die enge Küstenstrasse zu erreichen. Dies mag mit ein Grund dafür sein, dass Villasimius noch immer ein Geheimtipp unter Seglern ist. Zwar fand Ende April mit der Melges32 Klasse eine weitere One-Design-Regatta statt. Doch bleibt Villasimius dennoch ein verschlafenes Dorf, das erst in den Sommermonaten so richtig zur Blüte gelangt.

Die Teilnehmerliste der GC32 Racing Tour 2019 wird stärker denn je. Dank einer Konsolidierung der GC32 Regatta Events nach der vergangenen Saison konzentrieren sich nun alle GC32 Teams auf die Racing Tour. Mit Alinghi, Oman Air und Red Bull Sailing werden drei illustre und erfolgreiche Teams aus der Extreme Sailing Series nun an der GC32 Racing Tour teilnehmen.

Für die mehr als 10 erwartete Teams folgt nach dem Saisonauftakt in Villasimius die Weltmeisterschaft in Lagos, bevor es dann nach Palma de Mallorca an die Copa del Rey MAPFRE geht. Den Abschluss in Europa macht dann Riva del Garda.

Villasimius Cup: Impressionen von der ersten GC32 Racing Tour Regatta

(Fotos: Sailing Energy / GC32 Racing Tour)

This content is also available in English