Regatta 4: GC32 Riva Cup, Riva del Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

europe

11 – 15 September 2019: The fourth stop of the GC32 Racing Tour 2019 is Riva del Garda at Lake Garda in Italy.
It is as well as tradition that the GC32 Racing Tour stops in the picturesque harbour town in order to hold a regatta under the mostly excellent conditions. The organizers and the hosts are accordingly well-rehearsed.

Once again the foiling catamarans of the participating teams will be accommodated at Fraglia Vela Riva at the northern end of the lake.
But in 2019 the GC32 Riva Cup will not take place in spring as in previous years, but towards the end of the tour in mid-September. At this time of year the temperatures are more pleasant – but above all the Pelér wind blows stronger and more constant.
Riva del Garda is a holiday resort at the northern end of Lake Garda, which is very popular with sailors and windsurfers due to the strong north wind Pelér – also called “vento da nord”.
Together with the advantages of a large lake, Riva del Garda offers ideal conditions for a regatta.
Riva del Garda has a wealth of attractions for visitors of the city: The MAG Museo Alto Garda, housed in a fortress, shows archaeological and historical finds and has a picture gallery with works from the 15th to the 19th century. The nearby clock tower Torre Apponale offers a magnificent view over the city and the lake. Among the many richly decorated historic buildings, the most striking is the baroque church of Chiesa dell’Inviolata with its frescoes and opulent stucco.

GC32 Riva Cup, Riva del Garda: Impressions from the fourth GC32 Racing Tour Regatta

(Fotos: Sailing Energy / GC32 Racing Tour)

 

This content is also available in Deutsch

Regatta 4: GC32 Riva Cup, Riva del Garda, Gardasee, Italien

europe

11.09. – 15.09.2019: Die vierte Station der GC32 Racing Tour 2019 ist die italienische Stadt Riva del Garda am Gardasee.
Es ist schon so gut wie Tradition, dass die GC32 Racing Tour im malerischen Hafenort halt macht, um bei den meistens hervorragenden Bedingungen eine Regatta abzuhalten. Entsprechend gut eingespielt sind die Veranstalter und die Gastgeber.

Einmalmehr werden die Foiling Katamarane der teilnehmenden Teams bei Fraglia Vela Riva am nördlichen Ende des Sees untergebracht.
Doch 2019 findet der GC32 Riva Cup nicht wie in früheren Jahren im Frühling statt, sondern erst gegen Ende der Tour Mitte September. Zu dieser Zeit sind die Temperaturen angenehmer – vor allem aber weht der Pelér Wind stärker und konstanter.
Riva del Garda ist ein Urlaubsort am nördlichen Ende des Gardasees, der wegen des starken Nordwindes Pelér – auch «vento da nord» genannt – bei Seglern und Windsurfern äusserst beliebt ist.
Zusammen mit den Vorteilen eines grossen Binnensees bietet Riva del Garda geradezu ideale Voraussetzungen für eine Regatta.
Den Besuchern der Stadt hält Riva del Garda eine Fülle von Sehenswürdigkeiten bereit:
Das in einer Festung untergebrachte MAG Museo Alto Garda zeigt archäologische und historische Fundstücke und verfügt über eine Gemäldegalerie mit Werken vom 15. bis zum 19. Jahrhundert. Der nahe gelegene Uhrturm Torre Apponale bietet einen herrlichen Blick über die Stadt und auf den See. Unter den vielen reich verzierten historischen Bauten fällt vor allem die Barockkirche Chiesa dell’Inviolata mit ihren Fresken und dem üppigen Stuck auf.

GC32 Riva Cup, Riva del Garda: Impressionen von der vierten GC32 Racing Tour Regatta

(Fotos: Sailing Energy / GC32 Racing Tour)

 

This content is also available in English